NEW DELHI: India defeated Australia by two wickets in a thrilling high-scoring contest in Visakhapatnam on Thursday, and took a 1-0 lead in the five-match T20I series.
Riding on quick-fire 80 from skipper Suryakumar Yadav and late heroics from ‘finisher’ Rinku Singh, India registered their highest ever run chase – 209 – in the shortest format of the game.
Tense affair:
Suryakumar scored 42-ball 80, which included nine fours and four sixes on his captaincy debut for India, and Rinku played an unbeaten knock of 22 off 14 balls as the hosts won with one ball to spare.
It was a tense affair as India needed seven off the last over.
To make the situation worse for the hosts, they lost three successive wickets including two run outs on ball four and five. Chase-master Rinku got the team to victory after Sean Abbott bowled a no-ball.
Unaccounted six:
Rinku smashed a six, off the final delivery, that was not counted as the run off the no-ball got India home.
Previous record:
With the thrilling win, India went past their previous best chase of 208 against the West Indies in 2019.
India’s highest successful chase (in numbers):

  • 209/8 in 19.5 overs | Target 209 | vs Australia | at Visakhapatnam | Date: 23-11-2023
  • 209/4 in 18.4 overs | Target 208 | vs West Indies | at Hyderabad | Date: 6-12-2019
  • 211/4 in 19.1 overs | Target 207 | vs Sri Lanka | at Mohali | Date: 12-12-2009
  • 204/4 in 19.0 overs | Target 204 | vs New Zealand | at Auckland | Date: 24-1-2020
  • 202/4 in 19.4 overs | Target 202 | vs Australia | at Rajkot | Date: 10-10-2003
  • 201/3 in 18.4 overs | Target 199 | vs England | at Bristol | Date: 8-7-2018
  • 200/3 in 20.0 overs | Target 198 | vs Australia | at Sydney | Date: 31-1-2016

Records set in the match:

  • India is the only team to complete five successful run-chases of 200 or more in T20Is.
  • 209/8 is India’s highest total against Australia in T20Is, eclipsing the 208/6 at Mohali on September 20, 2022.
  • Suryakumar Yadav (42-ball-80) slammed the highest individual score on captaincy debut for India in T20Is.
  • Ishan Kishan joined MS Dhoni and Rishabh Pant to hit two 50-plus scores by designated wicket-keepers for India in T20Is. KL Rahul heads the list with 3.
  • With his maiden T20I ton, Josh Inglis equalled the Australian record of Aaron Finch to hit a T20I hundred off 47 balls.
  • Australia’s 208/3 in Visakhapatnam is their highest first innings T20I score against India.

(Stats courtesy: Rajesh Kumar)

PM Modi consoles team India in dressing room after World Cup final loss against Australia

Source link

By jaghit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: