Himachal Pradesh elections: BJP releases list of 62 candidates | Himachal-Pradesh Election News

NEW DELHI: BJP on Wednesday released a list of 62 candidates for Himachal Pradesh polls.
Elections to the the 68-member Himachal assembly are due next month.
Among the prominent candidates, incumbent chief minister Jai Ram Thakur will contest from Seraj. Anil Sharma, son of former Union minister Sukh Ram, has been fielded from Mandi. Satpal Singh Satti has been given a ticket from Una.
The list also features five women candidates. Some incumbent MLAs have been dropped.

The BJP finalised its list of 62 candidates after a marathon meeting of its Central Election Committee chaired by party president JP Nadda. It was also attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union home minister Amit Shah, Himachal chief minister Jai Ram Thakur, state BJP chief Suresh Kashy and other prominent leaders.


The Congress on Tuesday released its first list of 46 candidates. Former state party chiefs Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu and Kuldeep Singh Rathore from Nadaun and Theog, respectively.

AAP, that is looking to make inroads in the state after a successful campaign in Punjab, has released a list of four candidates so far.
For the past few elections, the state has swung alternately for the Congress and the BJP.

The Election Commission announced dates for the Himachal Pradesh elections last week. Single-phase polling is due in the state on November 12. Counting will take place on December 8.

Source link

By jaghit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: